Sinéad Morrissey wins 2013 TS Eliot Prize for Poetry

Sinéad Morrissey

Irish poet, Sinéad Morrissey, has won the 2013 TS Eliot Prize for Poetry. Considered to be the most prestigous prize in poetry in Britain, the TS Eliot is presented annually by the Poetry Book Society and was funded by Eliot's widow Valerie Eliot until her death in 2012. It is now supported by trustees of the TS Eliot estate. The winner was announced on the evening of Monday, 13 January. 

Parallax, Dr Morrissey's fifth collection of poetry, was described by the chair of the judges, Ian Duhig, as:

Politically, historically and personally ambitious, expressed in beautifully turned language, her book is as many-angled and any-angled as its title suggests.

Sinéad Morrissey was born in Co Armagh, Northern Ireland, in 1972. She read English and German at Trinity College, Dublin, from which she took her PhD in 2003. In 2013, she was named Belfast's first poet laureate. Dr Morrissey has previously won the Patrick Kavanagh Award, the Rupert and Eithne Strong Award and the Michael Hartnett Poetry Prize. Her poem 'Through The Square Window' was awarded first prize in the UK National Poetry Competition. Her five collections are There Was Fire in Vancouver (1996), Between Here and There (2002), The State of the Prisons (2005), Through the Square Window (2009) and the Forward Prize-shortlisted Parallax (2013) all of which are published by Carcanet Press. She has lived in Germany, Japan and New Zealand and is now reader in creative writing at the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry, Queen’s University, Belfast. 

Maurice Riordan, a native of Cork who is published by Faber & Faber was also nominated for his collection The Water Stealer, alongside Dannie Abse, Moniza Alvi, Anne Carson, Helen Mort, Daljit Nagra, Robin Robertson, Michael Symmons and George Szirtes. 

Website by Fuel