Literature Ireland
Catherine Ryan Howard
© City Headshots Dublin

Catherine Ryan Howard

Catherine Ryan Howard is an internationally bestselling crime writer from Cork, Ireland.

Her debut thriller, Distress Signals (2016) was an Irish Times and USA Today bestseller, and was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey/New Blood Dagger and Irish Crime Novel of the Year. The Liar’s Girl (2018) was a finalist for the prestigious Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award for Best Novel, an accolade previously won by Stephen King, Ian Rankin and Raymond Chandler. It was also named a Best Book of 2018 by the Irish Independent and Crime Time (UK), a Best Audiobook of 2018 by Library Journal (USA) and was included in a list of 50 great thrillers written by women since 1945 compiled by the Guardian. Rewind (2019) and The Nothing Man (2020) both debuted at No. 1 and 2 in the Irish bestseller chart.

Find out more about Catherine on her official website:

Translated books


The Liar's Girl